Visit these guides for additional information.
Since these are databases, you follow the database format, including as much information as is available. Information that is not available, simply omit.
Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Date of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume number, page range. Retrieved from http://www.someaddress.com/full/url/
Since these database entries are not specifically articles, but rather monographs, you include this information in brackets following the title of the entry.
A word on URLs: Since APA doesn’t want the entire permalink, which includes ezproxy information specific to our institution, you will need to enter the URL as it appears at the top of the screen, not the one that you get when you mail yourself a link to this page. Just copy and paste this part.
So, an example citation for a specific monograph would be:
Natural Medicines. (2012). Ayurveda [Monograph]. Retrieved from http://naturalstandard.com/databases/hw/all/patient-ayurveda.asp
If you have many citations from this database from the same year, you alphabetize the entries by the title and call them 2011a, 2011b, and so forth, in both the reference list entries and the in-text citations.
Natural Medicines examples
Kava (Piper methysticum G. Forst) In: Natural Standard. Somerville, MA: Natural Standard. [Published 2012; Accessed October 18, 2012]. Retrieved from http://www.naturalstandard.com/databases/herbssupplements/kava.asp?#bibliography
Kava. In: Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. Stockton, CA: Therapeutic Research Faculty. [Updated October 18, 2012; Accessed October 18, 2012]. Retrieved from http://naturaldatabase.therapeuticresearch.com/nd/Search.aspx?cs=OSU&s=ND&pt =100&id=872&ds=&name=KAVA&searchid=37784702
Please note that formatting is lost in this box. Remember to indent and space correctly.