Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CFO.com offers daily stories geared specifically for finance executives. Coverage includes original reporting on new accounting standards, recent capital-raisings, risk management, and professional career development. Website for the magazine.
Business, money, financial leadership. Website for the magazine.
CNNMoney.com includes comprehensive business and finance content. Website for Fortune and Money magazines.
Detailed steps on launching and managing a business. Compilation of information for the small businessperson from US government sources. Covers all aspects of starting a business, including writing the business plan.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Site features information about patents and trademarks, as well as a searchable database of patents and pending patents (including detailed patent entries back to 1976, and patent images only back to 1790), and a searchable database of trademarks and pending trademarks.
The official web portal for all local, state and federal goverment information and statistics.
Legal resources for businesses. Includes articles and a Q&A forum, where you can get a general overview or explore a specific situation.
Provides a website dedicated to the small business start-up. Includes business plan examples and other advice for the new entrepreneur. This site also sells Business Plan Pro, a commercial product to assist in the development of business plans. However, much of the site's content is available free of charge.
Sample business plans, guides and links by Inc Magazine
Vizala is an online database that is completely free and open. It would be the only site on the list that combines economics, market research, demographic, and industry data from many different sources and organizes the data for specific areas of interest. Vizala also provides tools that allow you to customize any view of data with filtering and sorting options. You can then save, share, or export any of those customized views.
A source for inspiration, featuring crowdspotted tips on innovative new business concepts popping up all over the world. Browse through the archives, segmented by industry, date, and country, to see if there’s a trend you can capitalize on.
A site for part- and full-time entrepreneurs in the early stages of business growth, this site offers a wealth of articles on topics such as registering a trademark and essential apps for business owners.
Toilet Paper Entrepreneur
This blog for would-be and existing entrepreneurs offers a wealth of advice on topics including hiring and firing, getting clients, and “the kick in the ass,” as well as a series of video interviews with successful entrepreneurs.