Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Periodicals are publications which are issued at regular intervals, such as journals, magazines, and newspapers.
To help you identify different periodicals, refer to the Types of Periodicals guide.
Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:
- Index: Includes only the article citation (i.e., author, title, date, etc.). Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.
- Abstract: Includes the citation and a summary of the article's content. It does not include the full-text article.
- Full-text: Includes the citation and full-text article. This may be in HTML, .pdf, or both formats.
Choosing a Database
Article databases provide you with 24-7 access to magazine, journal and newspaper articles. To help you identify the most appropriate database for your research topic:
- consult the Database A-Z guide and use the pull down menu to limit your search by subject, and/or
- see if there is a Subject Guide on your topic. Relevant databases are listed on the Articles tab.
Article Databases in 5 Minutes
Posted with permission from North Carolina State University Libraries.
Open Source Journals
Open source journals provide unrestricted, free access via the Internet to peer-reviewed scholarly journal articles.
Denver Campus Library Periodicals
For a complete listing of print periodicals available at the Denver Campus Library, visit our Periodical guide.
The guide is organized by broad subject areas (i.e., majors) which are further broken down into newspaper, trade magazine, and journal titles.