Skip to main content

MGMT2001 Human Resource Management: Welcome

Find resources for your research assignment(s) in MGMT2001.

Recommended Websites - Job Descriptions

Recommended Websites - Job Advertisements

Cost of Living Resources

Recommended Databases - Demographics and Market Trends

Recommended Books - Job Descriptions

The following titles are located in the Library's Reference Collection and do not circulate outside the Library. For more information, click the title link.

Job Descriptions vs. Job Postings

A job description is a detailed list of responsibilities or duties along with the necessary qualifications for the job (skills, education, etc.).
  • Usually include job summary, job functions and qualifications.
  • In a way, the job description almost serves as a contract with the employee and employer.
  • They list the expectations of the employers and could serve as grounds for dismissal if not followed by the employee.
A job posting is an advertisement posted by an employer looking to hire an employee for an open position.
  • Usually include contact information, employer name, salary information, job details and open position.
  • The posting MAY or MAY NOT include a job description telling candidates what the job entails.

Online Job Descriptions

It's often difficult to locate job descriptions on the Internet.

However, BLR, the company that produces the BLR Job Description Encyclopedia in print (see the Recommended Reference Books section of this guide for details), offers a free trial of their online job description database.

The Library does not subscribe to this source, but you can sign up for the free trial by going to the BLR website and providing your contact information. 

BLR also provides salary information on their site.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides:

  • job duties
  • training and education required
  • earnings
  • job prospects
  • working conditions