Skip to main content

BookNotes: Fall 2011

The Denver Campus Library's newsletter.

Welcome!

Welcome to Book Notes, the Denver Campus Library newsletter!

The newsletter provides information about: new library materials and services, upcoming library events, research tips, and more.

What's a QR Code?

You may have noticed these funny looking squares all around the library. They are called QR Codes.

QR codes are barcodes that can be read by smart phones that are equipped with a camera, a QR reader app, and Internet capabilities. Embedded in the codes you'll find around the library are web addresses or URLs to Library's electronic resources and libguides. As an example, the QR code above links you to the Library homepage.

Moving Announcement

If you are a returning student, you may have noticed we've moved things around. Here's what we've moved and where you can find it now:

DVDs They used to be intershelved in the general circulating collection with the books, but now they are housed on the black shelves adjacent to the staircase. Even better -- we've added over 500 new feature films to the DVD collection!

Leadership Library To reduce duplications and confusion as to where you can find leadership books in the Library, we've intergrated the leadership and general circulating collections into one. Now ALL of the books on leadership can be found in one location!

Oversized Materials They used to live on the bottom shelves of the general circulating collection, but now they have shelves of their own. The shelves are located at the back of the library near the bathroom hallway. The added benefit of this is that we now have a nice cozy nook where students can quietly study with fewer distractions.

MLA Tip

Visit the Library's Research Process Guide for tips on doing research. Step 5 of the guide provides MLA formatting guidelines as well as many examples for citing a wide variety of sources.

Library Hour Exceptions

The following are hours exceptions during the Fall 2011 term.

Columbus Day Weekend
Sun, Oct 9 = CLOSED
Mon, Oct 10 = 5p-10p

Thanksgiving Break
Sat-Sun, Nov 19-20 = CLOSED
Mon-Tue, Nov 21-22 = 8a-4p
Wed-Sun, Nov 23-27 = CLOSED
Mon, Nov 28 = 8a-6:30p

Meet your Librarians

Meet your Librarians - Lori, Merrie & Amanda!  We are here to assist you with research and to help you be successful while you are at JWU.  Visit the Meet Your Librarians guide to learn more about us!

For Your Entertainment

Over the summer, we were busy building new "entertainment" collections!

The feature film collection contains over 1,000 titles covering all genres including: documentary, sci-fi, animated, western, rom-com, drama, horror and more. You'll find classics as well as the latest and hottest blockbusters! The films are available for student, staff and faculty use and can be checked out for 7 days.

Did you bring a Wii or Xbox to school? Then you might be interested in the Library's Wii and Xbox game collection as well. The collection contains over a dozen game titles for each console. The games are located behind the Check Out Desk and circulate for 7 days.

Not film or game buff? Don't forget the Library has a large collection of current fiction and non-fiction books in it's McNaughton collection (located next to the Check Out Desk). Here you can find the latest bestsellers and books by popular authors.

A complete list of films and McNaughton books can be found in the Featured Collections section of the Library Catalog. Or, you can search the Library Catalog for specific book, video and game titles.

New E-Resources

We realize students prefer to do research online, so we've added a lot of new electronic resources to our online offerings.

Did You Know?

You can access 24/7, from on and off-campus, ALL of the Library's electronic resources, including databases, ebook collections and streaming videos

To log on from off-campus, enter your name and library barcode, located on the front of your JWU ID.